Difference between UK and US

In the US, we make (and sell) a bunch of ridiculous shit. Shit that you wouldn’t get away with in the UK. Shit like surprise-electric-toothbrushes.

So I’m at the grocery store buying some toiletries, and I’m in the toothbrush section. I don’t know if you’ve ever noticed, but there are a lot of toothbrush options. Why, I don’t know. I don’t think my teeth are that picky so long as they are clean. I get a little overwhelmed by all the options (what shade of fuschia do I want? On a scale of 1-10, how hard should the bristles be? Do I want a rubber ball to massage my tonsils while I scrape the plaque from the exposed bones in my mouth? etc etc).

When I am toothbrush shopping, I have two qualifications: 1) Is it on sale? and 2) does it come in a multipack? (Yes, I am a member at Costco. An Executive Member). General non-suckiness as a utensil is also a plus. I usually go with the first option that meets my qualifications. And that’s probably how I came home with two unassuming ordinary regular-looking bic toothbrushes with a medium hardness and complementing rubber bristles. I ignored the font on the front that read “Pulsar” as some marketing gimmick that is only effective when preceded by the word “free”.

I was brushing my teeth one night a few months later (like any good sober person with a normal sense of hygiene) when suddenly my teeth start to vibrate. ‘Course, my first thought is, “Did I pick up the wrong appliance…?” But upon closer examination, I realized there were two small rubber buttons, one with a plus and one with a minus. It would seem that, like any good American, I failed to read the directions.

Course, now I can’t not use the vibration setting. Does it clean my teeth better? No. All it really does is fling spit around and make me feel like I live in the arctic. But the real American-ness of the product is its hidden genuis. Because let’s be honest, who actually needs an electric toothbrush (besides ladies too embarrassed to buy a vibrator)? But somebody had the brilliance to disguise this thing as a slightly-better-than-shit toothbrush-two-pack on sale at the Piggly Wiggly, delivered a product that serves as little more than a saliva sling-shot, but can sleep easy with the guaruntee of a return customer. Because once you’ve experienced the luxury of an electric toothbrush – even a surprise one – ain’t no goin back. It’s as if you’ve gained a social class overnight. Sure, we may all wipe our asses the same way, but I brush my teeth with an electric toothbrush. Take that, Donald Trump.

Leave a comment

A Better Life

Moving forward, looking back, and allowing emotions to flow.

Perpetual Prude

Dating Diatribes of a 30 Year Old Virgin

The 29 year old virgin

Chronicling a desperate attempt to get legitimately laid

musings of a quarter life crisis

Mid-twenties lady trying to navigate her way through dating & moving to a new city...

onlinedatingjournal

My Fucked up Life in the Dating Scene

twentysexncounting

These are some of my adventures in dating and musings on the state of dating in the big apple (and beyond!)...

Hi, My Name is Dax... and I'm a Dateoholic

Confessions & Reflections of a Regular Guy trying to Break the Cycle

sexandtheshameless

Just another WordPress.com site

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

My Menstake

Sh*t, my menstake. Mistakes we've made with men.

Can I Get Ur Number?

Answering the question "Why Am I Single?" one post at a time...

It's Not a Match.com

Sometimes people you meet on the Internet are fucking crazy

LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation...be encouraged

nevertrustanalligator

random thoughts about anything and everything...

Uzair Ahmad

I and Life

Mickey Says Hello

Life is an adventure, so let me take you on my adventure.