Can you say awkward?

I am back. For a minute. Because I cannot get over this ridiculous coincidence that just happened. Today I ran into Belgium at the Yoga Studio I go to. Now you may be thinking, “that’s not all that unusual. People do yoga. So what?” Except that this was the first yoga class Belgium had ever been to. I mean, he was wearing cargo shorts and tennis shoes for chrissake. It’s not like he was a regular. Also, there are over 100 classes offered per week at the studio I go to. There are three classrooms and several classes running simultaneously. And thirdly, I haven’t been going more than once or twice a week, and rarely to the same classes. Actually, I usually do the hot classes, but today I just randomly decided to do a basic class because my legs are sore from running on the treadmill the last two days.

So yeah. Huge fucking coincidence.

Luckily, I didn’t really catch a good glimpse of him at the start of class since he came in late and set up in the back, but for a fleeting second I thought, “Is that B?” But considering I often think I see old love interests in places that they would never frequent and am 99% of the time wrong, I just assumed this was another one of those times. Which was a good thing, because it didn’t end up disrupting my practice at all, so there’s that.

At the end of class, he came up to me, and I had no idea what to say to him, so I just came out with, “Fancy seeing you here.” Ugh, lame, I know. Talk about awkward. Then there was nothing else to say, so I bust out with, “I read your book.” I told him I thought it was depressing, and he agreed with that analysis. Then he sort of mumbled that he “hadn’t had time to read the book I leant him,” then said louder, “I’d been meaning to text you, actually, to get my books back.”

“Yeah, me too.” I said. Then I just kind of looked at him, at a loss for words.

“Well, should we get together and catch up soon?” he asked.

“Yeah, alright,” I said, “But I’m out of town this weekend.” He sort of nodded at that, then we made our awkward goodbyes and parted ways. Oh, my awkward life.

Leave a Reply

A Better Life

Moving forward, looking back, and allowing emotions to flow.

My Top Fives...

Some Top Fives...and some other stuff too

Perpetual Prude

Dating Diatribes of a 30 Year Old Virgin

The 29 year old virgin

Chronicling a desperate attempt to get legitimately laid

The Unfortunate Virgin Male

A 30 year old virgin unlucky in love..,

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

musings of a quarter life crisis

Mid-twenties lady trying to navigate her way through dating & moving to a new city...

onlinedatingjournal

My Fucked up Life in the Dating Scene

guiltyconscience2013

A raw and honest account of infidelity.

twentysexncounting

These are some of my adventures in dating and musings on the state of dating in the big apple (and beyond!)...

Empowered Grace

Learning to Swim in The Alphabet Soup of the DSM

New Single Guy

A blog about navigating dating and relationships, post-divorce...

howtodateboys

30. female. sane. my take on dating in the 21st century

Hi, My Name is Dax... and I'm a Dateoholic

Confessions & Reflections of a Regular Guy trying to Break the Cycle

sexandtheshameless

Just another WordPress.com site

Dirty Thirty

Dating After 29...

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

