We’ll just…figure it out

My first date with Readsalot, we went to a coffee shop

I know, super original. It’s like I’ve run out of ideas or something. Mostly it was just because I was caught up with whatever was going on with Belgium that I wasn’t particularly concerned with this guy. Either way, neither of us could come up with something cool to do. So we went to a coffee shop. R said we’d just figure it out from there.

Sorry I’m late

I was running a few minutes behind (I don’t like showing up to first dates right on time…it makes me feel like I’m desperate), and I texted him to let him know. I got this response: “Punctuality is a western idea I don’t agree with.” That made me smile. I’m not sure if it was in a good way or a funny way, though.

When I walked up to the coffee shop, he was seated at a table right outside. The first meeting is always a little awkward, and I try my hardest not to make it super obvious it’s our first time meeting. R, though, seemed caught unawares when I walked up. He stood up abruptly and looked at me awkwardly. When the awkwardness didn’t dissipate, he offered his hand. *Note* Unless you are simultaneously interviewing for a job, I consider it bad conduct to shake your date’s hand. But I shook his anyway, just to make it less awkward. That seems to be the go-to for guys in awkward one-on-one situations anyway, so I didn’t hold it against him.

I don’t like sitting

I didn’t really want to sit there, waiting for my tea to cool enough to sipping temperature, and stare at each other across the table. So I suggested we take a walk. We were already in the downtown area, so there was plenty to see.

We walked along the boardwalk, and hit it off pretty quickly. It turns out we had a lot to talk about, and a lot of similar life philosophies. As a matter of fact, he reminds me a lot of one of my best friends from college. They even look alike!

So I left Match…

As we were walking back, R broached the subject of the online dating world, as every guy from Match eventually does. “So, I left that…uh, site,” he started, clearing his throat.

“Yeah, I noticed,” I said. I’d tried to pull up his profile a few days earlier to show one of my girlfriends, but it hadn’t come up.

“Yeah, I just don’t know how I feel about the whole thing, ya know?” he continued, “I still think I’d rather meet people,” he gestured vaguely, “organically.”

“Yeah, I gotcha,” I said, kicking a stick from the sidewalk.

“Anyway, I like being friends with girls before dating them,” he said, looking away.

“Right, I know what you mean.”

How many Match dates have you been on?

Then he asked me how many Match dates I’d been on, and I grossly underestimated. He told me he’d only been on one other date. Way to give it a chance before jumping ship, dude.

As we got back to the coffee shop, I headed inside to use the restroom, and gave him a hug as he left. “That was fun, we should do it again sometime,” I said. He said, “Yeah, me and my buddies go kayaking sometimes and dig up oysters. You should come along one of these days.” “For sure,” I waved as I walked back in the coffee place, and he ambled away, hands stuffed deep into his pockets.

Next up: date with newcomer Ken Doll

5 comments
  1. New Single Guy said:

    I was on Match.com for three months and never even got one date. That website didn’t work for me at all. So I don’t necessarily blame him for jumping ship.

    Didn’t seem like you two really hit it off though?

    • Well, we hit it off, but it was a total friend vibe. I didn’t realize it until later, though, that he was on a different wavelength than I was. Finally told him today that I didn’t see it going past friendship.

      • New Single Guy said:

        I’m glad you told him. 🙂 Too many times I’ve just gotten the silent treatment.

      • Yeah, I think that’s more the “I don’t know how to say no” treatment. But it’s still not fun to be on the receiving end of it.

Leave a Reply

A Better Life

Moving forward, looking back, and allowing emotions to flow.

Perpetual Prude

Dating Diatribes of a 30 Year Old Virgin

The 29 year old virgin

Chronicling a desperate attempt to get legitimately laid

The (Formerly) Unfortunate Virgin

A former 31yo virgin navigating the world of adult relationships

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

musings of a quarter life crisis

Mid-twenties lady trying to navigate her way through dating & moving to a new city...

onlinedatingjournal

My Fucked up Life in the Dating Scene

guiltyconscience2013

A raw and honest account of infidelity.

twentysexncounting

These are some of my adventures in dating and musings on the state of dating in the big apple (and beyond!)...

Empowered Grace

Learning to Swim in The Alphabet Soup of the DSM

New Single Guy

A blog about navigating dating and relationships, post-divorce...

howtodateboys

30. female. sane. my take on dating in the 21st century

Hi, My Name is Dax... and I'm a Dateoholic

Confessions & Reflections of a Regular Guy trying to Break the Cycle

sexandtheshameless

Just another WordPress.com site

Dirty Thirty

Dating After 29...

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

My Menstake

Sh*t, my menstake. Mistakes we've made with men.

