So my match boyfriend dumped me

It seems like I’m always apologizing for not posting

I do have a legitimate excuse at the moment, though, considering I don’t currently have internet at my new place. Basically, AT&T told me they could send a worker out to hook everything up for me for $200, OR I could just pay them $100 and they’d ship me the equipment in two weeks. Yeah, which one would you have picked? (As it turns out, all the equipment arrived in the mail today, but they aren’t activating the service until tomorrow after 8pm. Laaaaaaame).

BUT tomorrow evening, if all goes according to plan, I will have the interwebz in mah house at last! #HeckYes

In the meantime, I’ve been to just about every establishment in town that offers free wifi, and unfortunately they don’t all operate on my night-owl schedule. So that’s been difficult. Also, due to the sensitive nature of my blog, I don’t like writing on it in public. And it seems like the last few places I’ve gone to, there’s always been someone to sit directly behind me, and I’m paranoid they’re trying to read over my shoulder (not that anyone would really give a damn about my silly little blog, but it still makes me uncomfortable).

But back to the story

So last week, Belgium barely contacted me at all. He’d take hours to respond to texts (and it’s not like I was texting him that often! No more than twice per day…and we’d gotten in the habit of talking to one another a good bit). A couple times he didn’t respond to a text until the next day.

Just to be clear, I am not the kind of girl who begs for attention from guys. I am the kind of girl that gets fed up with a guy not responding and so in turn doesn’t get in touch with him either. I’m not desperate, and I don’t want to seem like I am. If a guy is not showing interest, I am not going to force myself on him.

Nextttt

Belgium was starting to bug me because he wasn’t responding. So Wednesday of last week, I got back in touch with Readsalot. We scheduled a date for today. (More on that later).

And I have to admit, it was pretty satisfying to be able to tell B that I had already made plans with someone else when he told me it “wasn’t working out”.

I don’t think this is gonna work

At least B had the courtesy to call me. I guess after three dates and some hookup time it would have been pretty shitty for him not to call me. I was in the middle of something when he called, so I didn’t answer. Called him back a few hours later.

The conversation went something like this:

  • Me: Hey, sorry I missed your call, I’ve been kinda busy today.
  • Him: Yeah, me too. I’ve got that robots thing later today [he helps kids build robots. all. the. time.]
  • Me: Oh, well did you want to try to do somethin today? When is your robots thing?
  • Him: In like an hour.
  • Me: Oh.
  • Him: Hey, I’ve been thinking…about us, and I don’t think it’s going to work out.
  • Me: Umm…Yeah, I kind of got that feeling from you this week.
  • Him: Well, it’s not just that, I mean I had a 60 hour work week this week.
  • Me: [rolling my eyes] Right.
  • Him: I mean, it just gave me a lot of time to think about us, and looking back on it, I don’t think we really have that much chemistry – I mean, you believe in chemistry as much as I do, right? There just isn’t that spark, you know?
  • Me: Hmm, yeah, I know what you mean. Match is a numbers game anyway.
  • Him: Yeah, I guess you’re right.
  • Me: Actually, I kind of already set up another date.
  • Him: [choked laughter] Really?
  • Me: Yeah, I mean, it seemed like things were headed this way. [awkward silence]
  • Him: Well this is awkward.
  • Me: Not really. I mean, it’s just interesting to me, I guess. I suppose I’m usually the one telling people I’m not interested.
  • Him: Yeah, I guess I could see that. [awkward silence]
  • Me: Anyway, I hope it wasn’t something I did.
  • Him: No! I mean, we’re both intelligent people, and I really do want to be friends with you – and I truly do mean that, I’m not just saying it to say it.
  • Me: Right. No, I mean I get it. [awkward silence]
  • Him: And I do want to hang out with you again. I have fun with you.
  • Me: Yeah, for sure.
  • Him: I mean, we had fun at the museum, right?
  • Me: Yeah, we did.
  • Him: You’ll have to tell the next guy that he has a lot to live up to!
  • Me: Hah, yeah. It was a pretty good date, but it didn’t work out so… [awkward silence]
  • Him: Umm…
  • Me: Anyway, let me know if you want to hang out this week…I mean, or whenever. [awkward silence]
  • Him: Yeah, definitely.
  • Me: Alright, talk to you later.
  • Him: Bye.

When I hung up he sent me a text message that said, “It’s nice when two level-headed people can just talk and be understanding like that so thank you.”

I felt a little bit like crying, but instead I wrote, “Yes, definitely. Good luck with everything :)”.

I’m over it

When I think about it, I’m glad he ended it when he did. And to be completely honest, after I came home from his place the night I stayed over, all I could think was “run”. So now I’m just happy not to be clinging to something that wouldn’t have worked out (I only really saw it as maybe a 6 month relationship tops anyway), and I’ve also had the opportunity to sit down and think about what I want from this Match experiment after all. And I think what I’ve come up with is a casual relationship (not necessarily exclusive) with someone I have fun being around and who isn’t trying to fill a void with a relationship. Oh yeah, a little good sex wouldn’t hurt either.

The funny thing is

So the best part of this whole story is that now that we’re officially not into each other anymore, he responds to my texts within 10-15 minutes. Or we had one text conversation the other day. It was amazing, he actually responded! I initiated the conversation, though, so it’s possible he was just attempting to show his good intentions of being friendly. Aaanyway, onto bigger and better things! (Besides, what would I write about if I had a steady relationship!?)

Tomorrow: My Coffee/Walking date with Readsalot

2 comments

Leave a Reply

A Better Life

Moving forward, looking back, and allowing emotions to flow.

My Top Fives...

Some Top Fives...and some other stuff too

Perpetual Prude

Dating Diatribes of a 30 Year Old Virgin

The 29 year old virgin

Chronicling a desperate attempt to get legitimately laid

The Unfortunate Virgin Male

A 30 year old virgin unlucky in love..,

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

musings of a quarter life crisis

Mid-twenties lady trying to navigate her way through dating & moving to a new city...

onlinedatingjournal

My Fucked up Life in the Dating Scene

guiltyconscience2013

A raw and honest account of infidelity.

twentysexncounting

These are some of my adventures in dating and musings on the state of dating in the big apple (and beyond!)...

Empowered Grace

Learning to Swim in The Alphabet Soup of the DSM

New Single Guy

A blog about navigating dating and relationships, post-divorce...

howtodateboys

30. female. sane. my take on dating in the 21st century

Hi, My Name is Dax... and I'm a Dateoholic

Confessions & Reflections of a Regular Guy trying to Break the Cycle

sexandtheshameless

Just another WordPress.com site

Dirty Thirty

Dating After 29...

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

