Jimmm…not so delicious

Round 1: J takes me to a great sushi restaurant downtown

This is a point in his favor.

Points against him:

  1. he’s never had mochi ice cream.
    – what self-respecting Japanophile has never had mochi ice cream!? Especially when you’ve actually been to Japan? He’s also never had Bubble Tea (*gasp*).
  2. he’s never been to a fro-yo bar. 
    – what’s the deal with all these guys who have never been to fro-yo bars? Is this just a chic thing? Seriously, guys, get it together.

And we talked about his job…

I thought J had a “top secret” job that he couldn’t talk about. Which was kinda cool. No really, it was cool. Then we sit down to dinner and practically the first thing we talk about is his job. And, btw, his job is to basically track down and talk to high-profile persons without seeming suspicious. For someone who has to make conversation for a living, you’d think he’d be easier to talk to.

I almost went home after dinner

Then he invited me to this great bar that has a mini arcade inside. I love video games, so I was intrigued and agreed to walk a block away to this other bar for some arcade-style Tekken. Maybe even a little guitar hero.

He suggests pool

As you all know, I spent the afternoon playing pool with Gryffindor, so I was not super keen on playing again. But he told me that a couple weeks beforehand, he’d schooled some kids at a beach bar. Alright. Show me whatcha got.

He was one of the worst pool players I’ve ever encountered

He didn’t even know how to properly rack the balls. I mean really. And you call yourself a secret agent. Lies, all lies! And I would chalk it up to him using his special people-reading skills to decide to let me win, but then I realized that if he could read me well at all he’d know not to insult people who like to play video games (ie me). It just amazes me that they let people like him into the special forces in the military.

“Should I walk you to your car?”

He asked if he should walk me to my car. I had parked a few blocks away on purpose. I politely refused, hugged him and went on my way. See ya never, Jimmm.

Guys just beg to be rejected twice

I sent him a polite email saying that I thought he was a nice guy, but that I just didn’t feel a spark. He responded thusly:

“You where very attractive and I enjoyed talking to you. I was kind of feeling you out last night. If you would like to try another date or hang out, I would like to do that.”

Funny how some guys just can’t accept rejection however polite. So I sent him a second rejection note. He seemed to get it after that.

The Verdict

I found Jimmm to be somewhat attractive, though a little on the short side (my height or an inch or so shorter). But his jock side seems to have overwhelmed any other cool personality trait he might have developed. During one conversation, he informed me that one of his friends was a serious hippie, and that he respected him even though (his voice reduced to a whisper) he “thought he might be into dudes”. Dude. What does that have to do with the amount of respect you have for a person?

On a Scale of 1-10

Common Values: 2

Common Interests: 3

Sense of Humor: 4

Attraction: 6

Total: 15/40

Remaining Players

  • Gryffindor
  • Jimmm
  • Milwaukee
  • Brown Trout
  • Sailboat
  • Mr. Ordinary
  • JonnyBoy
  • Cars, Guns, and Horses
  • Brusselsprouts
  • Hapkido
  • PunkRock
  • Canada
  • Mr. Fun & Caring

Next up: Milwaukee on a fancy-schmancy wine date. We get to discover what he’s really looking for.

4 comments
  1. I absolutely love this.. I “accidentally” joined match (SUCH a long story… I’ll blog about it at some point) and I have found it to be incredibly overwhelming!!!! I love reading your recounts of the dates…. what a great rating system you have 🙂 Can’t wait to read more!
    -S

    • sexyawkward said:

      Thanks! I’m in the process of writing the review of last night’s date with Milwaukee. Not altogether a failure, but I won’t be seeing him again haha. Checked out your blog. So funny! Looking forward to Bawesome part II!

Leave a Reply

A Better Life

Moving forward, looking back, and allowing emotions to flow.

My Top Fives...

Some Top Fives...and some other stuff too

Perpetual Prude

Dating Diatribes of a 30 Year Old Virgin

The 29 year old virgin

Chronicling a desperate attempt to get legitimately laid

The (Formerly) Unfortunate Virgin

A former 31yo virgin navigating the world of adult relationships

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

musings of a quarter life crisis

Mid-twenties lady trying to navigate her way through dating & moving to a new city...

onlinedatingjournal

My Fucked up Life in the Dating Scene

guiltyconscience2013

A raw and honest account of infidelity.

twentysexncounting

These are some of my adventures in dating and musings on the state of dating in the big apple (and beyond!)...

Empowered Grace

Learning to Swim in The Alphabet Soup of the DSM

New Single Guy

A blog about navigating dating and relationships, post-divorce...

howtodateboys

30. female. sane. my take on dating in the 21st century

Hi, My Name is Dax... and I'm a Dateoholic

Confessions & Reflections of a Regular Guy trying to Break the Cycle

sexandtheshameless

Just another WordPress.com site

Dirty Thirty

Dating After 29...

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

